Most in Demand Scrum Master Certifications

CSM Certification and other scrum certifications like PSM Certification, ASM Certification, SAFe Scrum Master Certification, and many more offer knowledge, training and tests around skills and aptitude required to manage complex projects and frameworks. The certification is apt for professionals who are involved in product delivery, managers, team leaders, and other senior-level organizational employees. 

Improve your skill with this course

Certified Scrum Master

Become a Certified Scrum Master & Join a League of Professionals Earning Up to INR 1677K Per Year. Get Certification on 2nd Day with 100% Money-Back Guarantee and 2-year Membership with Scrum Alliance.

Reasons to do Certified Scrum Master Training

Overview for Best Scrum Master Certification

A Scrum Master is responsible for managing processes to be completed on time and ensure quality checks using the Scrum framework. Various training and accreditation providers offer Scrum master training to candidates. Each of these training focuses on teaching the Scrum framework and how to apply it for different projects.

Scrum is a process that allows you to go through a complete development cycle at ease. The Scrum offers a lightweight framework to address complex business problems that help managers to effectively deliver projects of the highest possible value in time and with high-quality results. It is primarily used for the software development process by using a set of Scrum values to develop higher-quality software faster and better.

To become a Scrum Master, students have to clear the assessment and get certified. Depending on the institute of training and certification, Scrum Master Certifications vary and choosing the best scrum master certification needs some thinking and research. A comparison of the certification body, certification requirements and purpose can help define which option is the right fit. 

CSM Certification

CSM certification is one of the most widely acknowledged Scrum Master certifications that is authorized by Scrum Alliance. To undertake the CSM certification, it is essential to complete a 2-day classroom training. After the two-day training, students are eligible for the online test and need at least 74% to get the passing score. This is also considered to be one of the best scrum master certifications.

Certified Scrum

Master Course

Get Certification on 2nd Day

View course

ASM Certification

The EXIN Agile Scrum Master (ASM Certification) combines the practices of Scrum & Agile methodologies, proving a holistic and practical experience of Scrum Master training. ASM Certification offers thorough, in-depth training to test the proficiency of the Scrum Master to coach, facilitate, and enable cross-functional teamwork. Although there are no eligibility criteria, the students need to complete the advanced examination with a minimum score of 65% to gain the ASM certification.

PSM Certification

PSM Certification is a Professional Scrum Master certification similar to the CSM certification. The PSM certification is a 2-day course that covers theoretical and practical knowledge of the Scrum framework. The course contains instructions as well as team-based exercises, and the certification is provided after the students have completed the examination with a minimum score of 85% (80 correct questions).

SAFe Scrum Master Certification

The SAFe Scrum Master Certification is a 2-day course that explores the roles of the Scrum Master at the enterprise level. The program offers a more in-depth approach to understanding Scrum frameworks. The SAFe Scrum Master Certification requires completing of a test with a minimum score of 73% (33 correct answers).

SAFe Agilist

Certification Course

2 Days of live virtual training

View course

Given below is a detailed breakdown of the knowledge, complexity, cost, expiration date of all the courses mentioned above:

CSM Certification
ASM Certification
PSM Certification
SAFe Scrum Master Certification
Scrum; 2-day mandatory course
Agile & Scrum
Scrum; no course required
Agile & Scrum; 2-day classroom training mandatory
Very Complex
Certification Body
Scrum Alliance
Scaled Agile
Exam Passing Requirements
50 Questions; 74% Passing
40 Questions; 65% Passing
80 Questions; 85% Passing
45 Questions; 73% Passing
CSM Cost ($1000-$1400 (training)
$260 (exam )
$ 350 (training) $150 (exam)
$1000 – $1300 (exam and training)
Expiration Period
2 years
1 year
Renewal Cost
$100 and 20 SEU's
Not required
Not required

Best Scrum Master Certification

Although there is no fixed parameter to determine the best scrum master certification, CSM certification is the most recognized and popular choice. The CSM certification is provided by Scrum Alliance, which is a globally recognized organization that has trained over 750,000 professionals worldwide. The 2-day classroom training and online test also makes it a highly professional certification and is thus preferred by most as the best scrum master certification. 

Professional Scrum

Master Course

2 Days of live virtual training

View course

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)

What is the role of a Scrum Master?

The scrum master in the organization is responsible for ensuring that the team follows the principles and practices of the Scrum framework to achieve its goals. The scrum master's responsibilities include the following: 

  1. Identifying and clearing obstacles
  2. Establishing efficiency and best practices
  3. Addressing team issues and dynamics
  4. Creating long term plans with scrum goals and provide tasks for each team
  5. Communicating with the product owner and ensuring the team understands the requirements

What is the cost of the scrum master certification?

In India, most of the training companies offer a package of minimum 24999 + taxes to provide training, including the exam fees.

Who Can Attend Scrum Master Certification courses?

The Scrum Master certification is ideal for any organization that is looking to upscale its key team members to understand the process of planning and managing teams and projects. The Scrum Master certification is perfect for:

  • Managers
  • Project Managers
  • Scrum Masters
  • Product Manager
  • Software Developers
  • Product Owners
  • Software Development Managers
  • Software Architects
  • Software Testers
  • Team Leads
  • QA Managers

What is the eligibility criteria for these certifications? 

There are no fixed eligibility criteria for any of the courses. However, it is advisable to know the Scrum framework and complete a basic CSM Certification training along with the necessary education level.

How long is the scrum master certification valid? How does one renew the CSM certificate?

CSM certification is valid for two years from the date of completing and clearing the test. The CSM certification renewal cost is $100 and once done the certification is further valid for two years. Other courses like SAFe Scrum Master Certification and PSM Certification do not have a renewal. ASM Certification is renewed every year.

To renew the CSM certification, one just had to log in to the certification account and click on the window to renew the CSM certification. Once there, the user will be prompted to make the payment for renewal. 

Key Features

  • 2 Days Online Training
  • Delivered by CSTs
  • 16 PDUs and SEUs
  • Get Certification on 2nd Day
  • Role plays, Games, & Simulations
  • Scrum Alliance Exam Fee Included
  • Join 20+ Scrum WhatsApp Groups
  • 2-year Membership with Scrum Alliance
Drop Your Query
Phone Number
Enter Your Query