Why PMI ACP Certification after CSM Certification

by Avaneesh

July 31, 2019
Category Agile and Scrum

Background PMI ACP?

Number of certifications are being offered in the field of project management by Project Management Institute (PMI) from several decades. With the growing demand of Agile based model for project management, PMI has introduced a very specific certification called “PMI-ACP” in the field of Agile methodology. Thus PMI ACP stands for “Project Management institute – Agile Certified Practitioner” certification. It was first rolled out in February 2012.

What is PMI ACP certification?

PMI ACP certification is for the aspirants looking to gain Agile knowledge & apply to project management work. It is designed to get expertise in Agile process by following various methodologies like Scrum, Lean Agile, Kanban, TDD, Extreme Programming (XP). It gives depth understanding of the Agile principles & practices from all angles of Project management. The various areas of study under this certification are –

  1. Agile Principles and Mindset
  2. Value-Driven Delivery
  3. Stakeholder Engagement
  4. Team Performance
  5. Adaptive Planning
  6. Problem Detection and Resolution
  7. Continuous Improvement (Product, Process, People).

The above said fields make the syllabus of this course. It is clear that the certification enhances skills of an aspirant in the area like team performance, release management, stake holder handling, problem management & constant improvement. Tools & techniques with different methodologies are studied as part of this certification. Below is bar chart of exam question weightages for the above study areas –