Six Sigma Belt Levels

Students must choose the right Six Sigma certification level for their needs. Six Sigma certification comes with many benefits, including a tremendous annual payout. Knowing the eligibility, level types, and benefits are essential before deciding the right level.

Improve your skill with this course

Lean Six Sigma Green Belt


Lean Six Sigma Belt certification levels, divided into white, yellow, green, black, and master black belt levels, enable organizations to move to a defect-free state. Certification of Six Sigma Belt Levels is primarily done by ASQ and IASSC. The knowledge gets more advanced over increasing belt levels.         


Six Sigma aims to rid defects and wastes, thereby making an efficient and trusted service, which increases brand value using a Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control (DMAIC) model. 

There are five different Six Sigma belt levels. Depending on the belt levels, professionals with Six Sigma become basic or advanced Six Sigma certified practitioners. Knowledge about level types, eligibility criteria, benefits, and average salary becomes essential. 

Six Sigma Certification Levels

Every level of Sigma significantly reduces defects. At Six Sigma, the maximum allowable range of errors is 3.4 in a million. 

  • White belt lean Six Sigma certification level is the introductory level and allows the professional to work as part of the problem-solving team.
  • Yellow belt lean Six Sigma certification level is the next step, and using the knowledge one can be a part of the team and assess the process improvements.
  • Green belt Lean Six Sigma certification level is the third step, and a professional in this level gather data and perform analysis to help the black belt certified professionals.
  • Black belt lean Six Sigma certification level is the penultimate step. The certified people lead problem-solving projects and train the teams.
  • Master black belt lean Six Sigma certification level is the final step. The main job of the certified people is to train black belts and green belts and maintain the functionality of Six Sigma in the organization.

Six Sigma Belt Levels - Eligibility 

There are two certification boards for Six Sigma certification. They are IASSC ( International Association for Six Sigma Certification) and ASQ (American Society for Quality). 

There are no prerequisites for IASSC certification. However, ASQ certification requires three years of job experience. Although not mandatory, essential business knowledge can help a professional to understand Six Sigma concepts better and acquire and accomplish Six Sigma belt certification levels easily. 

Six Sigma Certification Levels - Applicability

Yellow and White Lean Six Sigma Belt Levels

The yellow and white certification levels provide a basic idea of Six Sigma, which is also available in green belt certification. 

Green Lean Six Sigma Belt Level 

The green belt Six Sigma certification level is an intermediary level of certification and is best for amateurs and advanced alike since it teaches the basics as well as the correct implementation of the techniques. 

Black and Master Black Lean Six Sigma Belt Levels

The black and master black belts are advanced Six Sigma certification levels, guiding experienced veterans in controlling complex problems in the organization. 

Hence, among all of the Six Sigma belt levels, getting a green belt certification is the best and the easiest choice.

Six Sigma Belt Levels - Benefits

A Six Sigma certified professional:

  1. Eliminates failure and operational costs with careful planning and solve problems in one attempt, thereby reducing project lifetime costs and increasing productivity.
  2. Creates better products, improves brand image and customer reliability, thereby helping to acquire better opportunities and projects.
  3. Uses Six Sigma to pitch business with measurements and careful planning.
  4. Becomes a sought-after professional who can improve the workflow and quality with proper measurements and analysis of the situation.

Lean Six Sigma Green Belt - Purpose

Lean Six Sigma green belt provides the knowledge to handle complex problems using different tools and techniques. A certified professional uses them to improve the production process, eliminate defects, and improve quality. The methodology is based on (DMAIC). 

Lean Six Sigma Belt Levels Certified Professionals - Average Salary

Although the salary of a Six Sigma Belt Level certified professional depends on his/her skills and experience, the average salary for a newly certified professional can be the following in different countries. 

Australia (AUD)
India (INR)

Key Features

  • 20 hours online Live Classroom Training
  • Trained by experienced Six Sigma expert trainers
  • 20 PDUs offered
  • Practical knowledge with Casestudies & simulations
  • Real life Projects
  • Life time access to recorded videos
  • Course completion certificate included
  • Course content aligned with ASQ
Drop Your Query
Phone Number
Enter Your Query